How to Handle Google Drive: Some Important Tasks

Google Drive, a cloud-based storage solution, enables saving files online and accessing from a tablet, smartphone, or computer. 

Using Google Drive has many benefits, like more manageable file sharing and holding a remote location to backup your files. But when contrasted to competitors like Apple’s iCloud service or DropBox, Drive’s popularity is developed on valuable collaborative tools and built-in unification with Google’s suite of merchandise and services.

Key Features of Google Drive:

  • Storing files: Google provides 15 GB of free storage space across Gmail, Google Drive, and Google Photos by default. After hitting the limit, you may pay for more space by enhancing to a Google One account.
  • Sharing files: Files are private till sharing. You can invite other users to edit, view, or download documents and files.
  • Accessing files from anywhere: Files can be accessed from a tablet, smartphone, or computer. Offline access is also available.
  • Comprehensive search: Drive can recognize images and text in scanned documents, making searching for files even more accessible.
  • Secure storage: Drive files are shielded by AES256 or AES128 encryption, the same security protocol applied on other Google services.

Transferring Ownership of Files on Google Drive

  • Open https://drive.google.com in a web browser by using a browser to access Google Drive.
  • Enter login information to sign in now.
  • Tap the file you wish to transfer, highlighting the file in blue.
  • Tick the profile icon with a plus (+) sign at the top-right corner of the screen for the “Share with others” popup to appear.
  • Insert the email address of the recipient.
  • Type a message as a note about transferring ownership of the file into the large typing area.
  • Tap Send for the “Share with others” popup to close.
  • Tap the file you just shared appearing in blue.
  • Tap the profile icon with a plus (+) sign.
  • Tap the pencil icon beside the recipient’s email address for a drop-down list to appear.
  • Click Is owner adding a checkmark beside the option.
  • Tap Done.
  • Press Save Changes for a confirmation message to appear.
  • Click Yes to confirm to get back to the Sharing Settings screen.
  • Tap Done as you have completed transferring the ownership of the file.

Saving Gmail Emails and Attachments to Google Drive

You may wish to save your emails and/or email attachments to a cloud storage service for safety, backup, or sharing. Google Drive has been integrated with Gmail, as Google owns both. You can save Gmail emails or email attachments directly to Google Drive without getting out of the email page. Get emails or email attachments forwarded to Google Drive immediately with just a few mouse clicks. You can even arrange and manage from Google Drive.

1. Saving Gmail Emails

  • Go to Gmail. In the browser, type in https://www.gmail.com on the address bar to get to the sign-in page of Gmail.
  • Sign in to Gmail with Gmail email address and password and tap the “Sign in.”
  • Get directed to the Inbox by default to see a list of emails received.
  • Select an email. Browse email folders to select the email you’d like to save to Drive. Click on it to open.
  • Proceed as you wish to print by tapping the printer icon to open the email in print-ready format.
  • The print window will appear to set up the printing preferences.
  • Change destination from the Destination field. Tap on the “Change” button below the default or set printer.
  • Set Google Cloud Print. Get the ” Google Cloud Print ” area from the available, and linked printers and printing tools list get the “Google Cloud Print” area. Check “Save to Google Drive” below it.
  • “Save to Google Drive” as the destination of the print job on the Print window.
  • Tap on the “Save” button found at the top to print your email to a digital file and save it to Google Drive.
  • View Google Drive by visiting https://drive.google.com from the browser.

2. Saving Email Attachments

  • Go to Gmail by visiting https://www.gmail.com on the address bar, and press Enter to the sign-in page of Gmail.
  • Sign in to Gmail with Gmail email address and password and tap the “Sign in” button.
  • Get directed to Inbox by default to get the list of all the emails received.
  • Select an email from email folders, and select the email with the attachments to save to Drive by ticking on it.
  • Save an attachment at the bottom of the email. 
  • The first one is for Download the file to the computer.
  • The second icon is for “Save to Drive,” to forward the file to Google Drive.
  • Click on the second icon logo for file attachment to quickly copied to Google Drive.
  • Save all attachments you would like in one go. Just scroll to the bottom of the email, where you see a line break between the email and the attachments.
  • Tap on the icon with the Drive logo for file attachments immediately copied to Google Drive.
  • View Google Drive by visiting https://drive.google.com from the browser.

Leaving a Shared Google Drive Folder on Mac or PC

  • Open Google Drive in the browser by writing in the address bar and hitting ↵ Enter or ⏎ Return on the keyboard.
  • Enter email and password to sign in with the Google account.
  • Right-tap the shared folder you wish to leave. Find the shared folder on the list of saved folders, and right-click to get a drop-down menu.
  • Tap Share on the drop-down menu next to a gray figurehead icon to open the folder’s sharing settings in a new popup window.
  • Tap Advanced in the popup window, which is located in the lower-right corner of the window. 
  • Tap the X icon next to the name and press the X icon next; it grays the chosen name on the list.
  • Being the shared folder owner, transfer your ownership to another user before leaving the folder by tapping next to another user and selecting Is owner.
  • Tap the blue Save changes key on the lower-left corner of the popup window to confirm the action in a new popup window.
  • Tap the blue Yes button to confirm the action, get removed from this shared folder, and even get it deleted from your Drive.