Proposed Eng-Aus series to begin from Sept 4: report

Australia’s proposed limited-overs series in England, which will consist of three T20Is and as many ODIs, will begin on September 4.

According to a report in Daily Telegraph, the planned fixtures would see Australia play T20Is on September 4, 6 and 8, and ODIs on September 10, 12 and 15. The Australia team is oxpected ti reach UK via a private flight.

As per the report, all six matches are expected to be played at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton and the Old Trafford in Manchester — the two stadiums with hotels large enough to house both the teams, match officials and broadcasters.

The report further said that the UK government will not ask Australia’s players and staff to quarantine for a fortnight — something which the West Indies team did before the start of the ongoing three-Test series and the Pakistan team, which will face England next in August, are currently fulfilling.

Cricket Australia have already named a 26-man preliminary list of players from which the final squad will be picked if the tour is confirmed.

Australia’s preliminary squad: Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Michael Neser, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, D’Arcy Short, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.