Germany extends Covid-19 travel warning for over 160 countries

The German government has extended its Covid-19 travel warning for more than 160 non-European Union (EU) and non-Schengen area nations and regions due to the ongoing pandemic.

The travel warning, which also applies to the UK, will remain in effect until September 14, Xinhua news agency quoted the government as saying on Wednesday.

The previous travel warning is set to expire on August 31.

The travel warnings currently in force apply to more than 160 countries and regions, but only slightly more than 130 of these have been classified as risk areas by the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), Germany’s public health agency.

Anyone entering Germany from a risk area must go into home quarantine and inform the responsible health authority, according to the government.

Since the beginning of August, all persons entering Germany from a risk area also have to present a negative Covid-19 test within 48 hours of taking it or be tested within 72 hours of arrival.

Test centres have been set up at airports and train stations and other easily accessible locations for tests across Germany.

According to the government, the tests for returning travelers are free of charge.

The German Travel Association (DRV) criticized the extension of the travel warning on Wednesday, calling it a “wrong signal”.

“A recovery of the global economy will not be possible without travel,” said DRV President Norbert Fiebig.

As of Thursday, the total number of coronavirus cases in Germany stood at 239,010, with 9,352 deaths.