Best Certification in Quality Management

Quality Management

A quality management system is vital for any organization’s performance. Implementing such a system requires a qualified professional. With the right certification, you can be that professional tasked with improving efficiency and output within the organization.

This guide offers an overview of the best certification in quality management, plus insights on what it’s all about.

What is Quality Management?

Quality management is a discipline concerned with ensuring outputs, benefits, and processes to deliver them are fit for purpose and meet stakeholder requirements.

The four key components of quality management are:

  • Quality Planning – Identifying quality standards relevant to projects and figuring out how to meet them.
  • Quality Improvement – Purposeful change of processes to improve confidence or reliability of outcomes.
  • Quality Control – Continuing efforts to uphold the integrity and reliability of processes in achieving outcomes.
  • Quality Assurance – Systematic or planned actions necessary for offering sufficient reliability that services or products will meet specified requirements.

All these involve multiple tools, procedures, and techniques which ensure outputs and benefits meet customer requirements.

Benefits of Gaining a Quality Management Certification

Gaining a quality management certification will undoubtedly make you a much more valuable professional. Considering that organizations increasingly face slim profits and rising competition, they need professionals who can increase their efficiency and bottom-line.

Some of the specific benefits of gaining quality management certification include:

  • Having a quality management certification on your profile is proof of your passion and dedication to improving your business understanding and analytical abilities.
  • Such certification will help you stand out from the competition in recruitment processes.
  • Considering the value of this certification, you’ll get better occupation chances and the potential of earning a higher salary.
  • The certification equips you with different approaches to increase revenue and reduce costs for your organization.
  • With the certification, you’ll know how to enhance staff involvement and rationalize processes.
  • Getting the necessary skills to apply in a leadership role is another benefit of the certification.

Best Certifications in Quality Management

Six Sigma certification is the go-to option for many professionals seeking quality management certification.

Six Sigma is a quality management approach in minimizing or eliminating defects or errors in business services or products. Initially developed for manufacturing processes, it’s now applicable across multiple industries including retail, electronics, and pharmaceuticals.

Such bodies as the International Association for Six Sigma Certification (IASSC) and the American Society of Quality (ASQ) offer Six Sigma certification. They provide similar certification levels, featuring:

  • Yellow Belt: Project team members supporting project improvements.
  • Green Belt: Professionals who support project improvements, help with statistical analysis, and lead projects (part-time).
  • Black Belt: Personnel leading projects (full time), as well as training, coaching, and/ or supervising project members.
  • Master Black Belt: Qualified personnel developing project strategy and metrics, serving as the go-to Six Sigma person, as well as training and coaching Black Belts and Green Belts.

Note that Six Sigma certifications don’t operate in a ladder format. For instance, a yellow Belt isn’t a prerequisite for a Green Belt.

The IASSC certification focuses on Lean Six Sigma: combines lean manufacturing principles and processes with a Six Sigma structure.

The three reputable IASSC certifications are:

  1. IASSC Certified Black Belt (ICBB)

An ICBB professional is well versed in Lean Six Sigma Methodology. The person can lead complex improvement projects in a full-time capacity.

The certification signifies a high level of competence in subject matters in the Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, and Control (DMAIC) phases defined by the IASSC Lean Six Sigma Black Belt Body of Knowledge. That means a certified professional has an advanced level of proficiency in implementing, performing, interpreting, and applying lean Six Sigma.

To acquire the certification, you’ll go through the IASSC Certified Lean Six Sigma Black Belt Exam. It’s a 150 question, closed book, and proctored exam. You’ll get a 4 hour allotted time for this exam. It contains about 30 true/false and multiple-choice questions from every significant section of the IASSC Lean Six Sigma Black Belt knowledge base.

  1. IASSC Certified Green Belt (ICGB)

An ICGB certified professional is well versed in Lean Six Sigma Methodology from the core to advanced elements. Such a professional leads improvement projects (part-time), serving as a team member within more complex improvement projects run by Certified Black Belts.

The Green Belt has a deep understanding of the Lean Six Sigma Method.

An exam is necessary to achieve this certification, which is a 100-question, closed book, proctored IASSC Certified Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Exam. Within the exam, you’ll get about 20 true/false and multi-choice questions from every major section within the IASSC Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Body of Knowledge.

  1. IASSC Certified Yellow Belt (ICYB)

The ICYB professional is well versed in foundational elements of Lean Six Sigma Methodology.

This professional can lead limited improvement projects (part-time) while serving as a team member within more complex improvement projects led by Black Belts or Green Belts.

To get the certification, you’ll go through the IASSC Certified Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt Exam. It’s a 60 question, closed book, proctored exam that has a 2-hour allotted time. Within the exam, you’ll get true/false and multiple-choice questions out of every section within the IASSC Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt knowledge base.

On the other hand, the American Society for Quality (ASQ) offers a total of 18 certifications.

The certifications include:

  1. ASQ Yellow Belt
  2. ASQ Green Belt
  3. ASQ Black Belt
  4. ASQ Master Black Belt

Besides that, there are 14 other job-role-specific certifications like Biomedical Auditor and Calibration Technician.


With such quality management certification, you’ll have the necessary skills to implement quality applications and projects. This involves using such tools as Minitab in effective statistical analysis.

To pass the exam and get your certification, you’ll certainly need extensive training. This is possible through a well-structured in-depth course that’s not only aligned to the relevant exam but also uses comprehensive case studies and real-life examples. That’s available in Simplilearn’s Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Training.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email